ABOUT US

Rainford United Reformed Church Higher Lane

Founded in 1692 as an Independent Chapel by the minister of the church in the village (Now All Saints) who was ejected from his living for refusing to use the Book of Common Prayer under the Elizabeth 1 Act of Uniformity, it eventually became a Congregational Church . 

 In 1972 the Congragtional Church in England and Wales united with the English Presbyterian Church to form the United Reformed Church.

This year (2017) the Church celebrated 325 years since its foundation and 150 years since the building of the present Sanctuary.

A small but vibrant congregation meets for worship each Sunday morning at 10.15 a,m. and the Church Hall is used by a wide range of Community groups. From 2018 it will be part of a Joint Pastorate sharing a minister with Haresfinch Church and Ormskirk Street Church which is in the town centre. In the village it works closely with All Saints Church of England and Corpus Christi Roman Catholic Church.

Create your website for free!